Avira AntiVir Free Version 8 Prevention Test Review

I tested Avira AntiVir 8 last night (the free version) and it blocked (quarantined) 5 out 5 pieces of malware.  Perfection!  3 pieces of malware were detected via Avira’s signature engine and 2 others were blocked via the Avira heuristics engine (very nice for a free app btw).

Here are facts:

  • 5 Malicious URL’s tested.
  • 5 Malicious URL’s were prevented from infecting the host computer
  • Internet Explorer was used.
  • PC was clean
  • Avira AntiVir Free version 8 was used
  • Signature DB was updated minutes before test
  • Heuristics were set to high

Watch the prevention review below:

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_eDef2r5is

, , , , , , ,

10 Responses to Avira AntiVir Free Version 8 Prevention Test Review

  1. blind December 11, 2008 at 5:23 pm #

    Heuristics is set to High or Medium?

  2. blind December 11, 2008 at 5:34 pm #

    Forget my first answer… 😉

    Can you try with Heuristics set to Medium?

  3. h47x December 11, 2008 at 8:14 pm #

    Yeah, heuristics was set to high during the testing.

  4. Dave December 11, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    Yes it stopped the URLs, but any intermediate user doesn't just go to random URLs for the hell of it. It didn't block the rogue, that upsets me, I use Avira. I think I might just download MBAM to back it up.

  5. malwarekilla December 11, 2008 at 8:24 pm #

    @blind – If I had more time…sorry man I'm booked with reviews.

  6. robin December 11, 2008 at 8:40 pm #

    yea like you said, they have to earn some money too. If the free version would catch everything there would be no reason to buy the paid edition.

  7. malwarekilla December 11, 2008 at 8:41 pm #

    @Dave – Correct. Users do not go to random URL's…they get redirected to them while browsing porn sites or myspace

  8. fsibechi December 11, 2008 at 10:07 pm #

    If the free version is that good it means that Premium version with anti-spy, anti-adware and web-guard protection is the perfect AV, well almost perfect only God is perfect ,then it worth to pay for premium version i think.

  9. Vasilis December 11, 2008 at 10:15 pm #

    Yea…Avira rocks!It has just been declared the best antivirus of 2008 by av-comparatives

    http://www.av-comparatives.org/seiten/ergebnisse/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What is the best free anti-virus software? | Computer Geeks Online - August 21, 2009

    […] http://remove-malware.com/antimalware/anti-malware-reviews/avira-antivir-free-version-8-prevention-t… […]

Leave a Reply