Rising Antivirus Prevention…Yikes…

Well…I was going to test Rising Antivirus but I got sorta a bad feeling once I loaded the first malicious URL…yikes!!!!

The background changed and the rogues we’re loaded…total fail IMO. I see no reason to load/test any other URL’s considering the first one I tested was 2 weeks old and completely hijacked the PC.

Product of China… 😛

And a few seconds later…

,

23 Responses to Rising Antivirus Prevention…Yikes…

  1. matt December 21, 2008 at 7:12 am #

    LOL!

    But it was only to be expected, a true "product of china" 😀

  2. Daniel December 21, 2008 at 7:12 am #

    epic fail

  3. Trey December 21, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    HAHAHA i'd like to see that video just for a laugh. That is sweet however my favorite malware app is the one that changes your screensaver to look like roaches eating your screen.

    P.S. COMODO RULEZ

  4. RejZoR December 21, 2008 at 10:22 am #

    You should still give it a try. However these chinese products are usually very centric to chinese market and malware being distributed there. China is huge and malware distribution as well. So coverage of stuff from EU and US might not be covered that well. Still, Rising is probably one of the best from china. Jiangmin just incorporated some new tech but not sure how effective it is for our malware…

  5. fsibechi December 21, 2008 at 2:47 pm #

    Instead trying to test this crappy app's from China try some well known an who have a better reputation , KIS, NIS ,BitDefender, etc. We are waiting for this tests .

  6. darcjrt December 21, 2008 at 5:01 pm #

    What a piece of #$%^&*(

    LOL

    YES COMODO RULZ!!!!

    I'll like to see KIS 2009 on the prevention side just to see how it really does!! I'm trying to convince my partner to move out of KIS to COMODO. hahaha

    Keep up the good work

  7. Matt December 21, 2008 at 5:31 pm #

    @darcjrt: Yes, let's see just how well Comodo fares against KIS 2009 – about the only programs KIS asks me about are proprietary and unsigned apps.

  8. Ping December 21, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    That was epic…. FAIL

  9. f December 21, 2008 at 6:10 pm #

    You guys are racist

    not everything from china is bad

    still

    i wanna see a video, try maybe 10 urls, and see if it does anyhing

    yes, this is a fail

  10. ComputerHelpGuy1 December 21, 2008 at 7:54 pm #

    Isn't rising antivirus a rogue?

  11. Johan December 21, 2008 at 11:08 pm #

    F: He cannot try anything more AFTER this happen since the PC is more or less locked up!!

    So tell us, how would he be able to try out 10 URL’s if this happens just after 1-2 URL’s?

    LOL that is NOT a PREVENTION product, for sure!!!

    And YES COMODO rules, I use it and i love it!

  12. malwarekilla December 22, 2008 at 3:46 am #

    @Daniel – yeah…big time.

    @RejZoR – I have so much to test, so I can’t waste time with apps like this.

    @fsibechi – agreed. I just started working on the Avira Premium review

  13. RejZoR December 22, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    So you prefer quantity over quality… i suggest you don't go that way.

  14. AZLAN210396 December 22, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    Sorry, a bit out of topic. I am uploading a video respond to your Malwarebytes Anti Malware review part 3. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE KIS HIPS IN ACTION

  15. AZLAN210396 December 23, 2008 at 4:35 am #

    China… The world of copycat….. They even copycat the Forbidden City And the Disneyland. And the BMW X5 too

  16. Ping December 24, 2008 at 12:05 am #

    @Alzlan Lmao, its true

  17. Tom December 25, 2008 at 4:56 pm #

    I once used Rising AV and didn't suffer from the problems you experianced. It is feature-rich but the relatively slow scan speed made me choose an alternative.

    It is big in China (unsurprisingly) and used by well known companies.

    Here's more info:
    http://www.rising-global.com/Published/Products/r

    Happy holidays and keep up the good work with the website.

  18. Jonas December 26, 2008 at 11:10 am #

    Soo, how about Panda Antivirus PRO next =)?

  19. Vincent December 26, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    Hey, how about testing out the new Dr.Web v5 antivirus? That would be awesome, imo!

  20. evgeny April 24, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    don't blame rising and to computerhelpguy1 rising isn't rouge it is a real av product

  21. evgeny May 8, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    re: hey matt re review rising on a infected pc and upload the review

  22. Kyle May 16, 2009 at 3:44 am #

    For a Free AV, i recommend using AVIRA, it consumes very little resources and detects a lot of viruses. Although it has many false positives, it compensates for its detection.

    Memory Footprint are based on; memory consumption before and after installation.

    ANSAV = 3-5MB

    Avast = 70-75MB (Minimal install 55-65MB)

    Avira = 58-66MB

    BoClean = 49-54MB

    Comodo Internet Security = 47-63MB

    Kaspersky Anti Virus = 110-120MB

    NOD32 (ESET) = 38-42MB

    Panda Anti Virus = 100-110MB

    PC Tools Anti Virus = 57-67MB

    Rising AntiVirus = 70-90MB

    Spyware Doctor (Google Pack) = 210-230MB

    Threat Fire Anti Virus = 26-30MB

  23. LoveSophos October 13, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    Uhhh i should get rid of rising then…. i use it!

Leave a Reply