Talk about rogues - what they are, how they work etc...
If this topic has helped you then please...
by sss20 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:33 am
Alert reader Laurie (my boss actually) forwarded a copy an email she received from a friend. It said the sender was “…pleased to announce the newest version of Antivirus 2010 for Windows.”
[..........................]
We checked out the URL (officialversion.ru) in the email, putting in our name and “promotion code” (actually any number will do) , went past the “member login page” that made some mentions of the very legitimate AVG anti-virus company, and went on to a credit card payment page. The REAL AVG company (fourth largest AV vendor in the world) offers “AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2011” in addition to security software that users purchase.

We noticed the logo on the page mimicked the colors of the AVG logo

[.................................]
Read more :
http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2010/11 ... -free.html
-
sss20
- Master Contributor
-
- Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:43 am
- Has thanked: 132 times
- Have thanks: 151 times
- OS: Windows 7 Professional
- Architecture: 64bit
AV scam: is it a rogue or is it AVG’s free edition for sale?
Advertisement
-
Advertisement
-
by sss20 » Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:28 pm
-
sss20
- Master Contributor
-
- Posts: 3358
- Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:43 am
- Has thanked: 132 times
- Have thanks: 151 times
- OS: Windows 7 Professional
- Architecture: 64bit
Return to Rogue Talk
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests