AV scam: is it a rogue or is it AVG’s free edition for sale?

Talk about rogues - what they are, how they work etc...

If this topic has helped you then please...



 

AV scam: is it a rogue or is it AVG’s free edition for sale?

Postby sss20 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:33 am

Alert reader Laurie (my boss actually) forwarded a copy an email she received from a friend. It said the sender was “…pleased to announce the newest version of Antivirus 2010 for Windows.”

[..........................]

We checked out the URL (officialversion.ru) in the email, putting in our name and “promotion code” (actually any number will do) , went past the “member login page” that made some mentions of the very legitimate AVG anti-virus company, and went on to a credit card payment page. The REAL AVG company (fourth largest AV vendor in the world) offers “AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2011” in addition to security software that users purchase.

Image
We noticed the logo on the page mimicked the colors of the AVG logo
Image
[.................................]

Read more : http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2010/11 ... -free.html
sss20
Master Contributor
 
Posts: 3358
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:43 am
Has thanked: 132 times
Have thanks: 151 times
OS: Windows 7 Professional
Architecture: 64bit

AV scam: is it a rogue or is it AVG’s free edition for sale?

Advertisement

Advertisement
 

Re: AV scam: is it a rogue or is it AVG’s free edition for sale?

Postby sss20 » Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:28 pm

Site is loaded with scam AV product pages

Last week we blogged about a site that was advertised in spam email that appeared to be either selling rogue security products or else was selling AVG's FREE antivirus product ("AV scam: is it a rogue or is it AVG’s free edition for sale?”)

A friend at AVG investigated just a big more and responded:

“LOL look at this:

hxxp://officialversion.ru/antivirus/1/
hxxp://officialversion.ru/antivirus/2/
hxxp://officialversion.ru/antivirus/3/
hxxp://officialversion.ru/antivirus/4/
hxxp://officialversion.ru/antivirus/5/
hxxp://officialversion.ru/antivirus/6/

The eight professional-looking pages (three are nearly identical) on the site all have generic names with all the design elements that are associated with the advertising of real security products: Symantec’s distinctive yellow colors, the shields and use of the year in the name.



Read more : http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2010/11 ... pages.html
sss20
Master Contributor
 
Posts: 3358
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:43 am
Has thanked: 132 times
Have thanks: 151 times
OS: Windows 7 Professional
Architecture: 64bit


Return to Rogue Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron