More Greeting Card Malware

If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to my RSS feed. Thanks for visiting!

I was just checking my mail at remove-malware.com and someone was nice enough to send me e-card malware! I think I'm going to see what the .exe does in one of my clean virtual machines. I had 3 clients this week that opened this e-card.exe file. They didn't get a cute card, instead that got XP AntiVirus 2008, Misc Droppers and a Rootkit.

Never ever open any e-card, 90% of them are tricks.

greeting card malware

Did you enjoy this post? Why not leave a comment below and continue the conversation, or subscribe to my feed and get articles like this delivered automatically to your feed reader.

Comments

I get like eight of those every day,some say You Have recieved an ecard, some say Subscriber, you have been invited to a reunion, all the same…

Very common spam. Too many people fall for it…very sad.

This what I found researching about this one
Origin Website (Links in e-card spam points to this one)

http://antivirus-2008-noadware.com/

Website IP Address:
64.158.56.56

Hosted with Co-Locations.com on Level 3 Backbone in California

Website Owner:
Karen Pulcinella (Born Feb 1955)
8588 wissahichon av
philladelphia
PA 19128
UNITED STATES
kpulcinella@yahoo.com
+1.2154825081

So - question is - can 53 years old lady be involved in producing a spyware or is she a victim?

Leave a comment

(required)

(required)