Double AntiSpy – Rated #1?

by malwarekilla on September 10, 2009

I listen to a lot of Satellite radio (I’m a big Stern fan) and while listening the past few days (9-08-09 through 9-10-09) I’ve been completely annoyed by a misleadingscratch thatcompletely false commercial  for a product called Double AntiSpy (in the commercial they say something like…”and ya know it’s the best because CNET and PC Mag have rated it #1″….complete BS!!!)

The reason that I say this commercial on the radio for Double AntiSpy is false\fake is because as of this moment Double AntiSpy isn’t even listed on CNET / PC Mag, much less #1.

Personally, I stay away from ANY program that lies about its rating.

091009 1951 DoubleAntiS1 Double AntiSpy – Rated #1?

091009 1951 DoubleAntiS2 Double AntiSpy – Rated #1?

Figure 1 – CNET Search for Double AntiSpy

091009 1951 DoubleAntiS3 Double AntiSpy – Rated #1?

Figure 2 – PCmag.com Search for Double AntiSpy

{ 45 comments… read them below or add one }

ThePro September 10, 2009 at 8:06 pm

And is it a rouge?

malwarekilla September 10, 2009 at 8:07 pm

I have no idea, but they’re using completely false statements in their advertising.

malwarekilla September 10, 2009 at 8:10 pm

ahhhhh…..stupid commercial is on right now…3:10 pm cst

ryan September 10, 2009 at 8:21 pm

My nis2010 reported it as a good site but i reported it just in case.

Matthew September 10, 2009 at 8:31 pm

They don’t even have contact details. It definitely seems like a rogue to me.

exit2600x September 10, 2009 at 8:55 pm

AH!, Avanquest is at it again. With there lies and crappy software. One of my customers bought there software. I promptly told them to reconsider and return it for something better.

Dario September 10, 2009 at 9:30 pm

I would NEVER buy software that does not offer a trial version at least. Their site does not feel trustworthy either. I have reported their site a bad on WOT :D

Croatian September 10, 2009 at 10:13 pm

It’s just like the finallyfast.com crap! I put it as bad on wot too for false advertising.

Rod September 10, 2009 at 11:44 pm

It is very misleading, but possibly not false. They claim that they are using 2 engines and that the 2 engines are award winning. The problem is they do not say which engine it is so who knows if it is true. They also say it in a way to make it sound like they are the award winners.

Clinon September 10, 2009 at 11:44 pm

Its not really a rouge well at least not yet but it make false claims but they have contact information at http://www.avanquest.com

ryan September 11, 2009 at 12:18 am

I would not trust there info anyone can give out false info check to see if there phone number is correct and there state of location.

Hydrooze September 11, 2009 at 12:22 am

They seem to remove the pcmag and cnet ratings already.. And they are a legitimate company who has won awards. They couldn’t have done such a thing.

Benny September 11, 2009 at 12:26 am

I just bought a copy…I’ll see if it works. It’s scanning now and finding a lot of malware!

Johan September 11, 2009 at 12:30 am

@Benny!

ahahahaah yea? And those malwares it founds is real malware of course? !-)

ryan September 11, 2009 at 12:53 am

Benny you bought the product? I hope you where useing pay pal when you bought it if you where useing a card you could be loseing thousands of dollars right now.

Benny September 11, 2009 at 1:21 am

No…don’t have paypal…I just used my debit card for my bank savings account.

ryan September 11, 2009 at 1:31 am

but why would you waste $29 on a product that might not even work?

Benny September 11, 2009 at 2:09 am

@Ryan

…because I wanted to test it out.

The scan completed and found 237 traces of malware on a system that came up clean after Kaspersky scanned it. So much for Kaspersky protecting me.

ryan September 11, 2009 at 2:12 am

kaspersky must be going down hill or there false positives.

malwarekilla September 11, 2009 at 2:30 am

@benny…ha, I wouldn’t remove a thing. Does it give you the option to just make a log of what it found?

Croatian September 11, 2009 at 2:30 am

I’m sure they’re false positives

malwarekilla September 11, 2009 at 2:51 am

or just cookies

Benny September 11, 2009 at 3:04 am

don’t see a log option….not cookies, but trojans and rootkits. Wow! No wonder it’s number 1!

malwarekilla September 11, 2009 at 3:28 am

lol…right.

malwarekilla September 11, 2009 at 3:28 am

….I smell bs

Croatian September 11, 2009 at 7:40 am

Ya there just tryin to scare u rouge uses the same technique kaspersky is arguably the best av out there. I wouldn’t believe this piece of crap.

azlan96 September 11, 2009 at 9:29 am

You can advertise ANY Program eventhough its fake on radio there??? Rarely heard of an advertisement about any software in Radio stations in my country…

Vasilis September 11, 2009 at 9:55 am

Well,it doesn’t seem to be a rogue after all…I tested it in a vmware machine.In a clean machine it didn’t find anything(if it was a rogue,it would find a banch of stuff,right?).Then I put it to scan some malware and it has a pretty decent detection rate.Of cource it is havy and slow,but at least it isn’t a fake program.

zord September 11, 2009 at 1:57 pm

the program uses the engines VIPRE (CounterSpy) and Outpost antimalware (Outpost AntiSpyware + VirusBuster)

http://www.vipreantivirus.com/
http://www.agnitum.com/products/antivirus/
http://www.virusbuster.hu/en/

Quanzi September 11, 2009 at 2:15 pm

Matt I don’t think it’s lying about the rating. If you could be a little calmer and had installed it on your VM you would have found it’s using CounterSpy’s and Spyware Doctor’s engines. Those two were “the best technology”, “the first rated” on CNET and PCmag, right? It’s just an OEM, just like G-DATA with BitDefender and Kaspersky.

Quanzi September 11, 2009 at 2:15 pm

I mean, BitDefender and avast!

Buck September 11, 2009 at 3:05 pm

Benny if you want to spend money on a antispyware program buy Counterspy from Sunbelt Software it’s only $20.00 a yr and will give you solid protection.

malwaredestoryer September 11, 2009 at 5:38 pm

hmm isn’t this breaking of law?

Jack September 11, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Looks like you had an impact…the PC World false advertising is now gone.

mathboyx215 September 12, 2009 at 4:07 am

I will rather buy a life time subscription of malwarebytes or superantispyware than counterspy

Thermalcake September 13, 2009 at 11:09 am

@azlan96:
If you have money you can do anything you want.

SSS20 September 13, 2009 at 1:12 pm

@Benny
That ” 237 traces of malware” are all fake !
you never haded on your computer… !trust me ;)

max September 13, 2009 at 1:20 pm

Iam using defensewall and sandboxie with out any firewall. is there any reason to get a firewall or am i ok with out it.

Buck September 13, 2009 at 8:36 pm

I don’t think Matt ever tested Counterspy from Sunbelt Software,why I don’t know. I believe it’s in the top 3 Antispyware programs out there. I know it’s good at removing Rogue AV’s and other nasty’s. I have used it to remove Super Antispyware Master that Eset Smart Security couldn’t even fine. I trust it and use it.

Clinon September 14, 2009 at 9:07 pm

Ok, first of all you guys do even know its a rouge. you have’nt even used it. I don’t really buy products online I can get it at stores like staples and right now i use ca internet security suite plus 2009, it comes with my isp and it reports http://www.avanquest.com as a safe site, even mcafee site advisor does.

P.S. Don’t judge software by how it looks.

malwarekilla September 14, 2009 at 9:35 pm

@Clinon and others – I never thought it was a rogue, I simply said their radio advertisement stated it (Double AntiSpy) was rated #1 by CNET and PC Mag when in fact it was NOT (it wasn’t even listed).

ryan September 14, 2009 at 9:52 pm

They where false advertising there product and saying they where better than all other just like cyber defender bluepoint security.

Kaixi September 27, 2009 at 9:05 am

I clicked on “Run a free scan” and it asked me to download a 190 MB file. WTF?!

Joe October 15, 2009 at 6:23 pm

For the record, I hate the commercial on Sirius and I distrust any software that needs to advertise on Stern’s show, even though I like Stern’s show.

As for it not being on CNet, it is listed. You have to search for “double anti-spy” with the hyphen. That’s the way the product is spelled. It comes up with one hit, but the hit is not CNet rated. So they are still untruthful about that.

Even that search term doesn’t come up on PC Mag though.

Joe October 28, 2009 at 12:41 pm

Get a mac. Problem solved

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: